October 22, 2003

eBay fraud

Through a collectors' discussion group, I've recently heard of attempts by parties unknown to purchase the accounts of established eBay sellers. Obviously, the would-be purchasers want to get a seller name with lots of good feedback, but I rather doubt it is the online equivalent of purchasing a going enterprise, complete with established goodwill. For if someone criminally inclined were to pay, say, $10,000 for a Power Seller's account and then started listing dozens of bogus items, it would likely take at least a couple of weeks before the defrauded buyers realized something was seriously amiss -- more than enough time to make the initial investment worthwhile.

From what I understand, eBay's rules do not permit the transfer of accounts, but I wonder if more could be done to emphasis the point. Like sending a warning message if eBay receives a request to change the registrant's name, email address, or credit card, pointing out that transferring an account is not only against eBay rules, but could leave the original account holder liable for any losses inflicted on eBay customers by the account buyer.

I've also seen evidence that eBay account password cracking is on the rise. The crooks apparently are targeting high positive feedback accounts that are not that active (though active accounts have been hijacked as well). So if you are registered with eBay, use a strong password: letters and numbers, and something you won't find in the dictionary.

PS If you've been deluged with emails purporting to come from eBay, telling you that you have to submit personal information confirmed or your account will be suspended, forward the notes straightaway to spoof@ebay.com.

Posted by David on October 22, 2003 10:36 AM

Comments

we are new with the internet & e-bay. we believe we have been taken by this method of operation you described in you site. we checked all the feedbacks and they were perfect. we sent 4500.00 western union for a polaris ranger 4x4 and never received it. we keep seeing the same photo coming on ebay for a really good delivered price. we were told it was a connection with the factory. the person who picked up the money was mario lantz using the website clarkgriswoldx@yahoo.es any info would be greatly appreciated

Posted by: steve & dawn borgwardt on November 28, 2003 11:12 PM

I sent questions to a seller regarding a Kawaski 4 WD utility vehicle. The answer was to send money order and item would be shipped free. Turns out that the bogus seller tapped into another seller's forum while she was out of town. Never heard if anyone sent money though I saw about 30 names that had corresponded with the fraudulent seller.

Posted by: sallie pedersen on December 9, 2003 6:24 AM

i was taken for 2500.oo for a polaris ranger the guys name was joseph develler in liver pool united kingdom if itseems o good to be true it is i checked feedbacks all seemed in order also i recieved emails that looked like they were from ebay telling me that the ranger was in ebays warehouse but ebay doesnt have a warehouse so im just another victim

Posted by: si on March 16, 2006 7:30 PM

I have come accross several purported sales of Polaris Rangers from addresses in the UK, particularly London. While the service may not be available for all locations, you can check out London addresses on several sites that can be found by searching London Maps. The search revealed that the seller's claimed street address did not exist.

Posted by: William Garland on May 5, 2006 3:59 PM
Post a comment




  Remember Me?


(For bold text to display correctly, please use <strong>, not <b>)




Google